Training in Anaesthesia


Our school delivers a full spectrum of training and education from complete novice all the way to an advanced level.  We are proud to be able to deliver modular training in all sub-specialties and ensure that every trainee is able to experience spiral learning as specified in the Curriculum of The Royal College of Anaesthetists.  


We aim to support our trainees across a variety of clinical and non-clinical special interests, and our hospitals currently host a number of fellowship positions including in quality improvement, simulation training, burns and plastics, chronic pain and obstetric anaesthesia.


We support our trainees with tailored in-house teaching for both the primary and the final Fellow of the Royal College of Anaesthetists by examination (FRCA examinations), in which our pass rates comfortably exceed the national average. We also host a number of simulation-based courses including obstetric and paediatric anaesthesia, patient safety and non-technical skills.


We offer Royal College of Anaesthetists approved training for the Certificate of Completion of Training in Anaesthesia, with specialist pathways in paediatric and cardiothoracic anaesthesia, chronic pain, neurosurgical anaesthesia, plastics and burns amongst others, and we have close links to the local Faculty of Intensive Care Medicine - approved training programme in Intensive Care Medicine.


The Learning Process


The Learning Process is provided as a spiral progression within an ongoing process of modular training, being repeated at various levels of knowledge and experience from basic, through to higher and advanced.  For example:




  • 3 months (pure ICM block) basic - CT1/2

  • 3 months (pure ICM block) intermediate - ST3/4

  • 3 months (pure ICM block) higher - ST5+




  • Basics - CT1/2

  • Intermediate - ST3/4 at DGH

  • Higher - ST5+ at the Barts and the London Children’s Hospital




  • 3 months intermediate - ST3/4

  • 3 months higher - ST 5+

BLSA Requirements

Please click on the links below to view the BLSA requirements for each stage of training


Core Training (CT 1 & CT 2)


Intermediate Training (ST 3 - ST 4)


Higher & Advanced Training (ST 5 - ST 7)


Out of Programme Training